Postsecondary Home Tech Support Contact Us Product Info Site MapSearch
Human Relations  Strategies for Success      
Strategies for Success

Chapter 11 Individual and Organizational Change

Practice Test
  1.Which of the following is the fist step in the Seven Stages of Personal Change?  
  a.   Death of a person  
  b.   Letting go  
  c.   Denial and anger  
  d.   Emotional standstill  
  2.What is an organizarional development?  
  a.   An in-house strategy for change in small companies  
  b.   A government-assisted change strategy for companies in financial trouble  
  c.   A company-wide, planned, systematic method of achieving change in an organization  
  d.   A hostile takeover of an existing company  
  3.Which of the following is NOT one of the parts of the Lewin change model?  
  a.   Unfreezing the status quo  
  b.   Moving to a new condition  
  c.   Unfreezing the employees  
  d.   Refreezing to create a new status quo  
  4.Which of the following statements is true?  
  a.   Everyone goes through the seven steps of change at the same speed.  
  b.   Kurt Levin invented both the Lewin change model and force field analysis.  
  c.   "Refreezing" is the final step in force field analysis.  
  d.   All of the above are false.  
  5.The person responsible for the implemenation of an organizational development program is known as the:  
  a.   organizational developer.  
  b.   mitigator.  
  c.   OD change agent.  
  d.   catalyst.  
  6.A company-wide, planned, systematic method of achieving change in an organization is called:  
  a.   the Lewin change model.  
  b.   the adaptation methods strategy.  
  c.   organizational development.  
  d.   the leveraged buyout.  
  7.Which of the following is NOT one of Shad Helmstetter's steps for dealing with change?  
  a.   Choose the action you are going to take very day.  
  b.   Review possible methods of harming the change agent.  
  c.   Recognize and understand the change.  
  d.   Make the decision to accept or reject the change.  
  8.Helmstetter's Six Steps for Dealing With Change can help in dealing with direct, small-scale changes in everyday life. Which one of the following choices is one of Helmestetter's six stages?  
  a.   Choose the style you will use in dealing with the change.  
  b.   Resist the temptation to choose your own attitude regarding the change.  
  c.   Check your progress in dealing with the change once or twice a year.  
  d.   Base your reaction to the change on your own perception of reality.  
  9.Regarding change in one's life due to personal growth, this type of change is:  
  a.   always negative.  
  b.   always positive.  
  c.   minor.  
  d.   dramatic.  
  10.The completion step in the Seven Stages of Personal Change is often called:  
  a.   numbness  
  b.   muteness  
  c.   rebirth  
  d.   regression  







Student Resources
Chapter  11
Practice Test
Biography Links
Research Links
BusinessWeek Online
Select a Chapter
The McGraw-Hill Companies
Copyright ©2004 The McGraw-Hill Companies.
Any use is subject to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.