Choosing Books


Children's Literature Awards

Internet School Library Media Center Literary Prizes
This site contains an extensive list of links of major book awards for children, juveniles, and young adults.

Newbery Medal Winners
Here you'll find a printable list of all the Newbery Medal winners since the award's inception in 1922. Each year the Newbery Medal is awarded to "the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."

About the Newbery and how it is awarded
Learn about the history of the Newbery Medal and how it is awarded.

Caldecott Medal Winners
This site has a printable list of all the Caldecott Medal Winners and Honor Books since its inception in 1938. This prestigious medal is awarded to "the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."

About the Caldecott and how it is awarded
Learn about the history of the Caldecott Medal and how it is awarded.

Coretta Scott King Award Winners
This site features a printable list of the Coretta Scott King Award Winners and Honor Books from 1970 to 1999. This annual award honors African-American authors and illustrators for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions to children's literature.

Coretta Scott King Award Purpose and Criteria
Learn about the purpose and criteria used for selecting Coretta Scott King winners.

Coretta Scott King History and Development
Find out more about the history and development of this prestigious award.

Pura Belpre Award
Established in 1996, this award is given to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose outstanding literature for children and youth best portrays and celebrates the Latino experience. Here you'll find a detailed, printable description of the award as well as a complete list of medal winners and honor books. Some titles are accompanied by book cover illustrations.

Hans Christian Andersen Medal Winners
Here's a list of Hans Christian Andersen Medal Winners since the award's inception in 1956. This international children's book award is given every two years to one author and one illustrator in recognition of his or her entire body of work.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
This site features a printable list of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal winners since its inception in 1960. This award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award
This site features a printable list of all the Mildred L. Batchelder Award winners and honor books from 1968 to the present, including background information about the award. Each year, the Batchelder Award is presented to the publisher of the most outstanding children's book from another country that is printed in translation and published in the United States.

Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/subst/lists/awards/scott-odell.html/002-0896278-7686646 Here you'll find a printable list of all of the Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction winners from 1984 to 1998. This award is given to a work of historical fiction set in the New World and published in the United States.

Edgar Allan Poe Awards
This site displays a printable list of the Edgar Allan Poe Award winners for Best Juvenile Novel in mystery from 1962 to 1998, and Best Young Adult Novel in mystery from 1989 to 1998.

Young Reader's Choice Award Winners
(Pacific Northwest Library Association)
This site has a printable list of Young Reader's Choice Award winners from 1940 to the present. You'll also find links to other pages that explain the background of the award, feature all of the nominees for a particular year, and provide ideas for literature-based reading programs. In association with the Pacific Northwest Library Association, children and young adults from the Pacific Northwest, including Alaska, Alberta, and British Columbia, select the winners from a list of pre-selected books published three years previously.

The Christopher Awards
On these two pages, you'll find the 1998 and 1999 Christopher Award winners for books for young people. Established in 1949, the Christopher Awards are presented to those whose works of artistic excellence "affirm the highest value of the human spirit."

Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children
This page lists the poets who have received the Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children presented by the National Council of Teachers of English. It also includes links to a profile on Eloise Greenfield, the 1997 recipient, and background information about the award.

Margaret A. Edwards Award for Outstanding Literature for Young Adults
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/edwards.html This site features a printable list of winners for this award, which honors an author for lifetime achievement in writing for teenagers.

Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Winners
This site features current winners and honor books as well as additional links to acceptance speeches and past winners. The award, established in 1967, is given for outstanding fiction or poetry, outstanding nonfiction, and outstanding illustrations.

Phoenix Award
Here you'll find a printable list of Phoenix Award winners and honor books from 1985 to the present. This award recognizes books of high literary merit published in the English language 20 years previously, which have not received a major children's book award.

American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults
This page provides a list of links, compiled by the Young Adult Library Services Association, to various awards and recommended books for teenagers.

American Library Association Notable Children's Books
This page provides a comprehensive list of links to major children's book awards and their winners, including ALA's Notable Children's Books from 1996 to the present.

Golden Kite Award
This site features Golden Kite award winners and honor books from 1974 to 1997 and includes some acceptance speeches in text. Presented by the Society of Children's Books Writers and Illustrators, this award honors members whose work exhibits excellence and appeals to the interests and concerns of children.

International Reading Association Children's Books Awards
http://www.reading.org/about/whatwedo/awards/children.html This award is given for first or second published books to an author who shows promise in the children's book field. This site provides only background information on the award. It does not provide a list of previous winners.

Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children
Established in 1990, this annual award promotes and recognizes excellence in nonfiction writing for children. Here you'll find a list of winners and honor books, as well as several links to learn more about the background of the award.

Children's Choices for 1998
This site provides links to the Children's Choices for 1998, which have been grouped according to reading level. In association with the International Reading Association and Children's Book Council, 10,000 school children from different regions of the United States read and vote on their favorite newly published children's and young adults' books.

Contact Us | Search | Home

Copyright ©2000 The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved. Any use is subject to the Terms of Use. Privacy Policy McGraw-Hill Higher Education is one of the many fine businesses of The McGraw-Hill Companies.
Corporate Link